Feminist Remix

For this assignment I’ve decided to explore the topic of “beauty” and how society portrays it through the media. There have been hundreds of tv commercials and magazine’s ads with beautiful models selling a product that would make them… beautiful. The message implied in these commercials is that what they “sell” is what is beautiful, and if we all want to be beautiful we have to look like that. A lot of young girls and girls my age grow up under the pressure of having to look like those models, in order to be considered pretty within this society.  It’s fair to say that this pressure grows a lot more in women than men, considering these commercials are often directed to women and use them as a selling object.

The first part of my assignment is a remix created with the audio of this tv commercial of cover girl where a young and beautiful girl suggests that the cover girl products are required if you want to look like her, and videos of “normal teenagers”, to show that all of them could be “Cover girls”.

For the second part of the assignment, I’ve decided to make it more personal. I looked up to some videos on youtube and also remembered some tv shows and the goal is always the same: overcome your fears and show that you’re not afraid to tell what you don’t like about yourself. Well, in my opinion, it’s much more easier to tell what we don’t like opposed to what we do, so I thought it would be a good idea to do that: show the world what we love. First I asked some of my friends if they wanted to contribute and then I posted a message on twitter asking if anyone wanted to join. I told them to write of a piece of paper what they loved the most about themselves (physically) and then take a picture with the sign. Even though I got a lot of positive responses, some of the girls were telling me that it was hard for them to choose something that they liked. This proved that my “theory” was right, it’s always easier to find something we don’t like than something we do, and this is why I developed this “project”, to help girls realizing that they’re beautiful and they have something they should love and not feel bad about it. I used the mashup by Glee “I feel pretty / Unpretty” because it described what i wanted to achieve with this. As long as we’re beautiful on the inside, it doesn’t matter what’s on the outside, you should feel pretty anyway.

Happy girls are the prettiest! – Audrey Hepburn

I would like to personally thank all my friends that are part of this video, even though we were all far from each other. From all regions in Portugal, to Germany, Czech Republic and Austria, they all contributed with a little piece.

Leave a Reply

